Installing strap buttons?

Discussion threads tucked away for browsing or searching

Installing strap buttons?

Postby suenadia » Sat Jun 21, 2003 8:31 am

How hard is it to put strap buttons on a MD? I just ordered some from Dulcimer House in Texas. I have a rosewood scroll Blue Lion. The Dulcimer House people said we needed to drill a pilot hole first. Where would we drill the hole for the scroll end? I am wondering if this is something my husband can do or if I need to find a luthier? Bear with me folks, I am new to all this, lol. My husband is good with wood, btw. Thanks for any advice. I got tired of the thing trying to jump off my lap when I played it... LOL!
suenadia
Senior Mbr (101-500 posts)

Postby KenH » Sat Jun 21, 2003 10:31 am

It's not hard, but you don't want to goof. All you're doing is drill two small holes and them driving screws into them. The tail end is pretty straightforward; the screws can go anywhere. The head end depends on the shape and style of your scroll head. If its an open bottom scrool, some folks tie the head end of the strap there and unsnap at the tail only. I'd put the snap below and 'aft' of the rearmost tuning machine on the scroll. Just remember, the screw has to go into solid thick wood, not the side. The pilot hole is to prevent the wood from splitting out when you drive the screw in. Your husband should be able to do it without much problem. Remember to mark twice and drill once....or is that the other way around?EEK!
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

ha!

Postby suenadia » Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:25 pm

Good one Ken, and thanks for the directions. I should get it in the mail next Friday... so I'll let you know how it goes. I'd die if we split the wood... We just put crown molding up in the living room and boy, we did measure twice believe me! Sue
suenadia

Postby kwl » Sun Jun 22, 2003 12:14 am