Flatpicking-Embelishment Instruction??????

All strummers welcome!

Flatpicking-Embelishment Instruction??????

Postby mlsa » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:16 am

Good Morning Everyone

I've decided it's time for me to move beyond simple strumming my dulcimer. I've been playing basically since about December of 2011. I'm satisfied where I'm at in my playing as far as being able to read the tab at speed while learning a new song, memorizing the tab, strumming, playing chords (although I'm still learning this but it does add so much to the sound)...BUT....I hear all these people take the same song I'm playing and they start flatpicking and adding embelishments and it blows mine away. An example is Bing Futch playing "Rosin The Bow." I know he's one of the dulcimer elite players but gotta shoot for something and I love that song and I love his playing. And then of course is Stephen Seifert playing Black Mountain Rag. ...you don't get much better than that.

I really want to learn how to flat pick and learn how to embellish my playing. I know it takes practice...practice...practice. Does anybody have any suggestions? Any great books out there? I've saved a couple of websites that talk about flatpicking and I'm starting there. How did you start?

Thanks

Gene
mlsa
Senior Mbr (101-500 posts)

Re: Flatpicking-Embelishment Instruction??????

Postby KenH » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:39 am

Gene, you'll probably find some good flatpicking instruction under Guitar Lessons. The principle's the same although the instrument is held differently.

I'm not a flatpicker, so this bits probably all wrong. But my understanding is that you set up a picking pattern, like melody-bass-middle, melody-bass-middle and then start noting with the left hand, starting each measure with that pattern.
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby zanetti » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:28 pm

Some possibilities that might help: