Pick Wear

All strummers welcome!

Pick Wear

Postby bret » Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:50 pm

I've noticed that the Herdim pick I've been using for a couple months has started to pick up some wear. Just wondering if this is normal and if the wear pattern is normal. Here's what it currently looks like. The flip side is worn the same, but on the opposite side.

(Click to view larger)
bret
Member (51-100 posts)

Re: Pick Wear

Postby KenH » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:06 pm

How old are your strings? When is the last time you lubricated them. That looks like wear from old, dead, rusty strings...
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby bret » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:11 pm

They came with the dulcimer - about 6 weeks ago. They don't seem to be rusty or showing wear yet :)

I've never heard of lubricating strings. :shock: Granted I'm only really familiar with violin and that wouldn't work with rosin. Is that a thing for dulcimers/guitars?
bret
Member (51-100 posts)

Postby bret » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:15 pm

Here's a picture of the strings for reference:

(Click image to enlarge)
bret
Member (51-100 posts)

Postby GrantOlson » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:31 am

How hard do you strum and do you strum over the strum hollow?
Grant
GrantOlson
Senior Mbr (101-500 posts)

Postby KenH » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:45 am

Yes, lubricating strings, both for rust abatement and to make them more slippery is common. FastFret and Dr Duck's Axe Wax (not really a wax) are two well known products, but dozens more ... Search under Musical Instrument String Lubricants

At second glance Grant may be on to something. That looks like you are using the edge of the pick, not the flat; and if you're not strumming over the strum hollow you may have the pick "too deep" to the point it is scraping on the fretboard or on the edge of a fret itself. There's no way that pick should show that much wear, even after a year of play!
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby Banjimer » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:56 am