I played dulcimer with Warren May today

All strummers welcome!

I played dulcimer with Warren May today

Postby baker12 » Thu Jul 10, 2003 5:56 pm

I decided to drive to Berea today to visit Warren May's Appalachian Mountain Dulcimers shop. I wasn't there for very long. I was picking around on one of his beautiful dulcimers, and he started to tell me about the dulcimer. I told him that I already played, and I loved the feel of his dulcimer. I was curious about the tuning though, because I couldn't play my regular favorites right away. He told me that it was tuned in Ionian (D-A-aa). He doesn't put the 6 1/2 fret on his dulcimers unless it is specially requested if you buy one of his dulcimers. He said his style is usually playing chords; my style (for now) is playing the melody. I started playing I'll Fly Away, and he joined in on the chords. It was AWESOME! I had such a blast. I really want one of his dulcimers. Did I mention to you that Kentucky is awesome? A couple of weeks ago my P&W band (church band) played at a church in Winchester, KY. I took my dulcimer along to play one song that we do with mountain dulcimer, bazouki, and hammer dulcimer. I knew that Homer Ledford went to this particular church, but that isn't why I took my dulcimer. He wasn't at the event that afternoon, but everyone asked me if I was playing a Homer Ledford dulcimer. I would love to be able to spend that much money on a dulcimer. A woman who lives across the street from me was my music teacher in elementary school. She plays the mountain dulcimer, and a few months ago she told me that she took private lessons from Jean Ritchie back in the 60s. Back to Warren May... I played his dulcimer in Ionian Mode, and it was really easy. I usually play in the Mixolydian Mode, but they both are in the key of D. What are the pros or cons for playing in Ionian compared to Mixolydian? Anyone else play in Ionian?
Last edited by baker12 on Thu Jul 10, 2003 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
baker12