Composing Music

Call the tune - Talk about whatever!

Composing Music

Postby Mistydawn » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:19 pm

A little query. As always add your personal comments! I have but not formally. I make up little ditties occasionally for fun. Years ago I composed a song but never wrote down the melody. I probably still have the lyrics somewhere. Right now I'm focusing on technique & adding to my repertoire. Perhaps at some point I'll want to try serious composing.
Last edited by Mistydawn on Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mistydawn
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby Sheila » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:41 pm

I am not good at orginal tunes. I always find that they are compilations of many tunes that I forgot I knew! I do enjoy writing lyrics, however. I have written lyrics for tunes composed by a member of our musical group. I also like to write my own lyrics to traditional tunes. Does that mean I'm lazy?LOL! No, just working to my strengths! Try the following to the tune of "10 little Indians" "Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto. These are the planets around our sun, I'm glad Jesus made them." (or 'I'm so glad I know them' for public school classrooms!). This is great for teaching kindergarteners about the solar system. I have adults coming back to me saying that they never have forgotten the planets and their order because of that little ditty. I didn't write this one, but don't remember where I got it. It gave me ideas for others that I used in my classrooms to helps kids remember stuff by rote.
Sheila

Postby Ardenvoir » Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:01 pm

Me too, every time I think I've made up something and finally tweak it to where it's complete, it's something I've heard before and forgotten. I have written an A part for two tunes, but haven't managed to come up with any more. So I voted "no but I'd like to."
Ardenvoir

Postby JayByrd » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:07 pm