Just saying hello

Help for new hammerers of all ages!

Just saying hello

Postby Jim J » Fri Oct 07, 2016 5:14 pm

This is only my second post to this forum, being new to the hammered dulcimer fraternity. I have been lurking for awhile and noticed that this is not a very active board, but I assume that it's just because people are just hammering away trying to get better at this marvelous instrument. By way of background info - I have been a musician my entire life - since I was 8 yrs. old anyway. I played trombone for about 10 years as a kid, took a couple of years of piano, then at the age of 15 I took up the guitar. Have played rhythm, lead and bass guitar in several bands over the years - none famous - and also did a stint as a drummer. After 50 years of guitar playing I was broken hearted when, due to arthritis in my hands I could no longer play as my hands would sieze up after a few minutes of playing (think leg cramp in your fingers and hands). Painful. Then one evening my wife and I were watching our local PBS affiliate and saw a program featuring a NC hammered dulcimer builder and player. My wife said that maybe I should try to learn this instrument to replace the guitar. A friend of ours had bought a 13/12 from Jake's Cabin a couple of years ago so that he and his son could learn to play an instrument together, but his son was not all that interested and he just didn't have the time - life got in the way. He offered to let me borrow his dulcimer to see if it was something I could do - and I immediately fell in love with this funky little box. After much research on the inter-web I settled on a builder and placed an order. Just Wednesday I recieved my Songbird Phoebe Chromatic and what a fine instrument it is. I am really looking forward to learning all that this instrument can do. Cheers to all and happy music to the world.
Jim J
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Just saying hello

Postby Steve Smith » Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:27 pm