Hammers bouncing too much

Help for new hammerers of all ages!

Hammers bouncing too much

Postby BobbaSkywalker » Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:06 am

Self-taught here, just starting out. I have all of one pair of hammers, hard on one side and a dampening fabric on the other.

I like the brighter sound of the side without the dampener, but when I strike the strings, it seems like the hammer wants to bounce back and hit the string a second time. I'm not trying to be forceful; it just happens.

Obviously, the answer is to get another set of hammers, but I've yet to venture forth to any ensembles to borrow a pair, or to a store (there is one within driving distance) to try some out.

Strings too tight? Wood too solid? Operator error?

I try the hard/bright side but then flip 'em over and use the dampened side for a while.
BobbaSkywalker
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Hammers bouncing too much

Postby Steve Smith » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:52 am

I'd suggest two things. First, don't hold the hammers tightly. It could be that you're forcing them back down when they bounce up. If you hold them more loosely, it'll be much more comfortable, as well. Second, make sure the "resting" position of the hammers is above the strings, not on them. If you let them fall back to the strings you'll get too much bounce, as you say.

This all assumes, of course, that your hammers really aren't the problem. We have a pair with flat (horizontally) bamboo shafts that flex way too much, but with wooden shafts it's usually not much of a problem.
Steve Smith
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby BobbaSkywalker » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:22 pm

Thanks for the reply. I'd like to think I'm not holding the hammers too tightly; it's certainly not a death grip. And I don't hold the hammers on the strings, though I do keep them fairly close.

As for the material of the hammers, I'm not sure what it is. It feels light and looks light, though it could be pine.
BobbaSkywalker
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)