Bowed "dulcimer"?

It's a bow! It's a dulcimer. Now what do I do? :-)

Bowed "dulcimer"?

Postby Dr_H » Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:36 pm

Hi. I hope this doesn't sound too impertinent; I am genuinely curious:

As a multi-instrumentalist and composer, I am well used to seeing conventional instruments played in unconventional ways. Bows have been applied -- with varying degrees of success -- to guitars, electric basses, mandolins, vibraphones, cymbals, and even music stands. So the concept of applying a bow to the mountain dulcimer seems perfectly viable, and as I cruise around the web I find a number of people who are doing exactly that.

What I also find, is a number of examples of what appears to be some kind of hybrid instrument -- sort of a "Weissenborn" version of a viol da gamba. These instruments have narrowed upper bouts, radiused fingerboards, radiused free-floating bridges, and appear to have been primarily designed to be played with a bow. Other than the hollow body extending under the full length of the neck, these instruments seem, to me, to be far closer to viols than to dulcimers. Indeed, the only obvious link these hybrids seem to have to the mountain dulcimer is the presence of diatonic frets.

If I had to put a Sachs–Hornbostel classification to them, I'd most likely put them under 321.322-71 (necked box lutes) with the viols and violins, rather than under 314.122-5 (board zithers with resonator box) with the dulcimers.

So . . . how are these "dulcimers"?
Dr_H
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Bowed "dulcimer"?

Postby danc9 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:49 pm

A part of history really!

DAN
www.dulcimore.com
Attachments
bowed.jpg
danc9
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby GrantOlson » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:28 pm