Teacher or Self-taught: a poll

Just hammerers

After getting a hammered dulcimer, to learn how to play I . . .

took lessons from a teacher.
17%
looked for, but couldn't find a teacher, so I taught myself.
10%
couldn't find a teacher and have almost given up.
1%
didn't seek a teacher, but bought books to get started.
28%
just played around with it until I got it.
22%
I'm still looking for a teacher.
5%
didn't have scheduled lessons, but attended festivals where I took classes.
18%

Total votes : 315

Teacher or Self-taught: a poll

Postby Dan Landrum » Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:05 pm

The thread about whether or not it is better to teach yourself or find a teacher has me wondering how most Everything Dulcimer HD'ers got started.
Dan Landrum
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Re: Teacher or Self-taught: a poll

Postby kwl » Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:34 pm

How about an option for those of us who have not had a teacher but have taken some workshops at festivals?
kwl
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby Dan Landrum » Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:48 pm

Good idea Kwl. Done.
Dan Landrum

Postby Dan Landrum » Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:49 pm

Oops. I messed it up when I put the new choice in. I guess I shouldn't have done that. Vote again please, and sorry.
Dan Landrum

Postby Alanrichie » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:06 pm

I chose four, (books) and seven (festival workshops). I expect I would progress faster and further with a teacher to encourage, cajole and generally be a critical pair of ears. The lessons from festival workshops tend to fade quickly unless one is provided with good hand-outs; and a few prepared souls ask if they may record the session for their personal use.

There's also the option of Youtube videos and CDs produced by some teachers.