Antique Cimbalom ... Please help members!!

Just hammerers

Antique Cimbalom ... Please help members!!

Postby JayIlisevic » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:49 pm

Good morning All,

I would like to start off by saying thank you to the ADMINS for accepting me into this group. I cannot wait to read the forums and learn exciting new things about dulcimers in general. My name is Jay from Ontario, Canada. I was doing some research online about cimbaloms because I just acquired my first one and stumbled upon your site. I am still learning about them and saw that you had a very informative site. For the last 12 years I have been playing guitar, but I also play several other instruments. While browsing through your website I want to mention that it is nice to be a part of a small community of people who share the same interest in these magnificent instruments.

Long story short, a few days ago I was given a cimbalom that I know nothing about (and neither did the person who gave it to me… at the time I thought it was a concert-sized hammered dulcimer) – what intrigued me about the one that I have, is that I knew that it was not a traditional hammered dulcimer as I generally knew them. After contacting a few people over the past few days and researching on my own I discovered that it was a cimbalom and that they are difficult to find in North America (as well as their players). Based on me being completely new to this instrument, I knew that I had to reach out to everyone who shared a common interest hoping to find more information on my instrument. I have attached pictures of mine.