luthiers???

We've got all the notes and we're not afraid to use them.

luthiers???

Postby alisa53 » Thu May 15, 2014 6:05 pm

I am new to the mountain dulcimer - a lifelong guitar player. Recently bought a little guitar dulcimer and really love the sound. Play it on my lap - not easy. So... I'm trying to buy something. I think I"m interested in a chromatic. I definitely don't love little hearts, and would like something more contemporary looking. It's a frustrating enterprise. I am blessed with money to get something on the extra nice side. But most of the luthiers I encounter either don't answer emails or have a back-log of years. Fell in love with the crop circle dulcimer by Greg Brouelette - seems like he's pretty busy and rarely makes dulcimers now. I love Gary Gallier's work - not even accepting any more orders on his wait list. He referred me to David Beede - so busy, I guess, that he doesn't answer emails. Ron Ewing also seems very busy. Anyone know of an up-and-coming luthier who has the time to take new orders and produce quality instruments? I'm 60 and afraid I might be dead before I get an instrument I like. :shock: :shock:
alisa53
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: luthiers???

Postby Skip » Thu May 15, 2014 6:13 pm

You didn't mention Blue Lion, Aeolus, Bear Meadow, or David Lynch at Sweetwoods.
Edit: I forgot to mention that there may something you may be interested in at Friends of the Mountain Dulcimer, [FOTMD].
Skip
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby deborahbozek » Thu May 15, 2014 7:44 pm

Try Modern Mountain Dulcimers (MMD):
http://www.modernmountaindulcimer.com/M ... /HOME.html
I have a chromatic MMD that I absolutely love!
deborahbozek
Senior Mbr (101-500 posts)

Postby alisa53 » Thu May 15, 2014 7:47 pm