Black Mountain 56 vs Sweet Wood Student

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Black Mountain 56 vs Sweet Wood Student

Postby AmberBella » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:01 am

I've been playing dulcimer for several years now and have easily settled on a beautiful double back performance Simmerman dulcimer as my main instrument of choice. However, I'm a music teacher and would like to keep my valuable Simmerman at home for obvious reasons and need a decent at school dulcimer that I'm not afraid of students damaging. I'm looking to spend under $250 for the dulcimer. I've been trolling e-bay, but nothing has really fit the bill. I'm thinking that either the Black Mountain 56 or the Sweet Wood student dulcimer is the way to go. I'm leaning towards the Black Mountain for purely aesthetic reasons (I think the kids would be more excited to see a more finished looking instrument), but would love some advice as I've never played either instrument in person. I'm also considering a used Cripple Creek - but it doesn't have a 6 1/2, also, I'm worried about playing a longer VSL with my tiny hands.

My Simmerman instrument is LOUD, clean, and very warm and I love it! I need an instrument that has pretty good volume, and one that isn't so bright that you lose the bass of it. I find that if the sound is too bright the students have a hard time singing with it. I have a Ewing dulcimette that I have used from time to time, but it just doesn't work so well as an accompaniment instrument...it's just so bright.

Open to opinions and other suggestions that I might not have thought of.
AmberBella
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Black Mountain 56 vs Sweet Wood Student

Postby GrantOlson » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:34 am