Strum in which direction?

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Strum in which direction?

Postby wjhorning777 » Sat May 28, 2016 10:30 pm

Hi I am self taught and own mcspadden mtn dulcimer. Have been practicing with all the great beginner books and enjoying it so much. One question; is there a right way to strum? I practice back and forth but I prefer sound I get when strumming away from my position. I want to practice what is right.
wjhorning777
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Strum in which direction?

Postby KenH » Sat May 28, 2016 10:40 pm

AS with so many things involving the dulcimer, there is no right way, or wrong way to strum. There is just YOUR WAY!

I was self-taught 40 years ago when there was only Jean Ritchie's book, and for 30+ years I only strummed out. Then one day, I accidentally strummed back in, and it sounded OK, so I started strumming in both directions for a few years. These days I do what feels good -- mostly strum out -- as it fits my personal playing style. I also don't strum a rigid metronome tick-tock (metro gnomes are little blue guys in the city!). I strum to the rhythm of the words. This works well as I mostly play alone, rather than with other instruments like guitars, and I don't play for dancers (who also want a steady beat)...
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby strumelia » Sun May 29, 2016 12:00 pm

HI WJ,
It's great that you are practicing both in and out direction strumming, because having that ability will give you lots of options later on for getting various sounds and for being able to play fast if you like. It can help with getting a smoother sound especially on brisk tempo tunes. But as Ken said, there is no actual right or wrong, and you get to choose YOUR favorite ways of playing! :D
strumelia
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby wjhorning777 » Sun May 29, 2016 12:48 pm