New here :)

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

New here :)

Postby inkdork » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:23 am

A few weeks ago, I decided to do some thrift store window shopping. I managed to go to 4 thrift shops and only spent $3. Then, at the 5th one, I saw this mysterious stringed instrument. I didn't know what it was but it wanted to come home with me. I went back 3 times trying to talk the lady down on price but finally paid $45 for a '96 Dulcimer Factory DF1. This post gave me some info about it and also is how I found this forum.

I previously had two ukuleles (a tenor and a concert) which I'm still learning to play. I finally got new strings for the dulcimer, and looking forward to learning it as well!
inkdork
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: New here :)

Postby danc9 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:00 am

Welcome and happy strumming to you! If you really want to get knee deep in, you might want to check out Friends of The Mountain Dulcimer too. Not a bad price to start your journey, be advised, you can't stop at just one.

http://fotmd.com/

Again, Welcome,

DAN
www.dulcimore.com
danc9
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby KenH » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:42 am

Lots of How-to information to help you learn to play and care for your new "friend". Check out my article I Just Got A Dulcimer, Now What? piece. It's an illustrated glossary of dulcimer terms, plus answers to many beginner questions about the tuning, playing, care and feeding of your dulcimer.

I Just Got A Dulcimer 2016.pdf
(1.07 MiB) Downloaded 133 times
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby inkdork » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:19 am

I'm already on board over there, and I think I've met you both there!

I have a quick question about the tabs here though. I'm looking at Amazing Grace (the second one listed) and see some of the numbers are in parentheses. What does that signify? I understand how the tabs are read otherwise (I'm interested in drone style for now) but not those.
inkdork
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)