Translating Guitar Tunings

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Translating Guitar Tunings

Postby LukeInCA » Fri May 26, 2017 10:13 am

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the MD and to the forum. Glad to have found it! I'm wondering if anyone has a good online resource (or rule of thumb) for tuning an MD to guitar tab tunings. For instance, I want to try to pick out a song on my dulcimer that I have guitar tabs for. The guitar tabs call for "Open D" tuning. How does this translate to tuning the dulcimer? (DAA?)

Thank you!

Lucas
LukeInCA
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Translating Guitar Tunings

Postby dholeton » Fri May 26, 2017 7:43 pm

Lucas
Maybe an open D tuning is DADF#AD. If so and you are looking for melody notes to play on a mountain dulcimer, I think you'll need to convert the guitar tab to notes.
A DAA dulcimer has A B C# D E F# G G# on the melody string if the dulcimer has a 6+ fret.
A DAD dulcimer has D E F# A B C C# on the melody string if the dulcimer has a 6+ fret.
The guitar tab has six strings and just considering the first 5 frets starting with the 6th string
the 6th string has D D# E F F# G
the 5th string has A A# B C C# D
the 4th string has D D# E F F# G
the 3rd string has F# G G# A A# B
and so on.

If the guitar tab stays under the 5th fret, you might be able to find a melody for a dulcimer if you can transpose the numbers on the guitar tab to the notes available on your D tuned (DAA or DAD) dulcimer as long as no A#, D#, or F is in the guitar tab. If the guitar tab is in a minor key, lots of things change.

I'm painting myself into a corner and will stop here. I don't see a good way to use guitar tablature for a mountain dulcimer.

Dave
dholeton
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby Robin the Busker » Sat May 27, 2017 6:59 am

Hi Lucas,

Welcome to ED.