dulcimer setup help

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

dulcimer setup help

Postby dadroadie » Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:55 am

Hi to All,
I’m new to the forum and hope I can get some ideals about basic setup on a dulcimer.
I have been doing free clinics for many years locally to introduce people to the joys of playing a musical instrument. I have been doing a program for seniors introducing both guitar and uke but would also like to add dulcimer to the program. I’m a new student to the dulcimer but really enjoy it and believe many others would.
My instrument is a “First Act” dulcimer that was given to me by my kids and has a lot of sentimental value. I know it’s not a great instrument but I believe it represents what a lot of “starter” instruments would be like when purchased.
I show during the program what to look for in a starter instrument and give some recommendations on heights at the nut and bridge as a base. I have been able to find these recommendations for the guitar and uke but I’m having a lot of difficulty finding this information for the dulcimer.
My First Act 4 string (see photo) seems to play well for me but I would like to set it up to make it as easy as possible for a senior that may have some arthritis issues. I have our guitar and uke set up with a very low action. I have been doing guitar and uke repairs for many years and have the tools to be adjust the nut and bridge correctly.
Currently my dulcimer has the following heights:
At the Nut: (measured from the top of the fretboard at the nut to the bottom of the string) 4 & ½ 64th all 4 strings
At the 15th fret :( measured from the top of the fret to the bottom of the string) 8/64th all 4 strings)
At the bridge saddle: (measured from the top of the soundboard to the bottom of the string) 12/64th or 3/16th all 4 strings)