Pick size

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Pick size

Postby CathyA » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:17 pm

Can anyone tell me what size a pick I should use? I am a really new beginner and have heard conflicting reports on pick sizes.
Thick or thin?
CathyA
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Pick size

Postby Judy K » Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:21 am

Cathy, the best way to find your right sized pick is to try several until one feels and sounds "right". I started with thinner picks because that was what "they" said was right. It took awhile but my favorite pick is a D'Andrea delrin pick, 1.14mm thick. The type of music you want to play on the dulcimer also plays into pick thickness. I play chord/melody, mainly in a flat-picking style. I've heard that playing noter/drone style usually takes a thinner pick with/for more flexibility.

I have a bunch of different picks in a 'unused' box. If you would like a free sampler pack of various thicknesses, send me a PM.
Judy K
Super Mbr (501-2000 posts)

Postby KenH » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:16 am

In general most beginners start with a thinner pick; most advanced players gravitate to thicker picks. Some of us traditional noter&drone players use an elongated 'plectrum style pick -- an oval say 2"-3" long and 1/2" or so wide. I use old credit cards to make such plectrums.

The biggest factors are how rigidly you hold the pick -- both the pinch of the fingers and how stiffly you hold it in relation to the strings. Don't "white knuckle" the pick, and have only 1/2" or less sticking out of your fingers.

Pick thickness? I don't personally care for a pick as thick as 1mm, but .75mm are just fine for me; I control the stiffness by how and how hard I grip the pick.
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby dholeton » Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:23 pm