EverythingDulcimer
CDFR

Dulcimer neck to side joint

Hi, 

I am new here. Canadian but live in France. I am new to lutherie, but determined to build a dulcimer (after buying Chet Hines book in 1975!)

Things are coming along, and I gave looked through a few guitar building books (Bogdonovich was a great help)

i have made the sides - bent and laminated with walnut and spruce, and have glued in laminated spruce linings. (Picture attached)

i am a bit stuck on how to plan for the joint between the sides and the neck/head. I I have made end blocks - (in the photo), but not sure whether the head should be attached before the end blocks, or the other way around. I am assuming I will mortice the head and tail into the blocks, so have cur a slot for that. 

I am concerned about making a good looking and nice looking joint for the head, and wondering which is the best joinery option. See the attached sketch of options. Option D seems to be common on classical guitars, but given the steep angles, seems to be the most tricky to make. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

Craig - in France

6CC6159C-DFE4-48D4-8634-FCE9907CFB33.jpeg

61E85CEF-EE84-4CF0-91EC-90212BD8E78B.jpeg

VERY nice looking work!

MOST builders attach the tuning head to the head block as a simple flat glue joint -- no mortise.  Some use a screw from the inside of the head block into the butt of the tuning head.  Others use a wooden dowel  from the block into the butt.  MOST of us attach the tuning head to the head-block before assembling the sides to the headblock.  Your sketch B is probably the most common joint between the end of side and the edge of the tuning head.  MOST of us no longer use lining strips.  Modern glues give  plenty of wood-to-wood grip without the additional glued surface. Most of us (in the States at least) use Titebond brand glue; my living-in-Spain father-in-law turned me on to the European product called EVO-Stick which works equally well.