EverythingDulcimer
Sign in to follow this  
Dylan Holderman

new builder looking for advice

hi guy's my name is Dylan, i just stumbled on your forum while i was googling for dulcimer plans so that i can build one for my mom.

any advice you can offer to someone new to Lutherie?   i have some background in wood working, from basic woodwork you might do in the garage to making my own selfbows and i'm a fabricator by trade so i have some building experience even though its in the wrong medium.

is cherry a good wood for a beginner? i have a lot of it around albeit in smaller pieces. another question my mom is fairly short (5'-3") would a slightly smaller size be better for her?

Hi Dylan; welcome to dulcimer building!    Building plans for dulcimers are not common; and the ones I've seen are not particularly useful.  A couple builders like myself and others here will do you a lot more good! The dulcimer is a very simple instrument to begin with; very forgiving  (that is it is easy to make a dulcimer that sounds good).

Cherry is a good wood.  So are walnut, maple and all of the other Eastern hardwoods -- which is what the old timers used.  Truth be told, a very good wood for dulcimers is ordinary poplar.  It is inexpensive, works easily and the results sound good.  For a basic dulcimer you're going to need the following pieces:
Top & Back =  1/8" thick x 6-8" wide x 36" long
Sides (2) = 1/8" thick x 1.5-2" wide x 36" long
Fretboard = 3/4" thick x 1.5" wide x 36
Tuning head, head block, and tail block dimensions will vary.  Head and tail blocks (which hold the ends of the basic shape together) are generally cut from something equivalent to a 2x4.